Polls  
    Tim's Web Quiz  
  Polls - Freshwater  
  Polls - Saltwater  

Go Back   Tropical Fish Forum . Net > General Aquarium Care > Water Quality and Algae

Water Quality and Algae Questions and comments about water quality.

Old ,

Exclamation Help! =\

Ey guys my name is Brian and I'm pretty new to this whole hobby and I have to say... it's pretty amusing watching my firemouth and blood parrot intimidate each other....

but anyway... I'm having a problem... my tank smells realllly bad... so bad that my mom thinks it's bad for my health... but what do moms know... I have a 50-55 gallon tank with a firemouth, midas, green terror, needlenose gar, tiger oscar, and blood parrot cichlids... 3 or 4 live plants and some driftwood... I feed them twice a day with an assortment of sinking pellets and every 3-4 days I go to petsmart and feed them 30 rosy red minows.

I can't figure out what the heck this smell is... I do weekly water changes (15%-30%) as well as vacuum the gravel... I think it's a filter issue (Crappy Top Fin 60 power filter)

there are some dead plant leaves that need to be trimmed....

someone help !
Old ,

Default Re: Help! =\

Welcome Brian!!! Well, a healthy aquarium should NEVER smell bad. Have you tested the water for Ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates. I'd need the readings to make suggestions. If you're fish are fully grown, the tank is overstocked, so that will contribute to the problem. I feed once a day, so maybe you could reduce the feeding for now, until the problem is sorted. The filter is not the best you could have for that tank, as you have some fish that are going to be quite BIG!!! A 55 gal tank is really suitable for an Oscar alone, as they are very messy. Let's start with the readings...if you don't have your own kit, maybe your LFS could do it for you. You really need a test kit...The liquid test kit is better than the strips.
BTW...Speaking as a Mom, we know LOTS!!!

5 gal... Robin, (Betta)
5 gal...Pete, (Betta)
5 gal...Scotty(Betta)