Polls  
    Tim's Web Quiz  
  Polls - Freshwater  
  Polls - Saltwater  
   





 

Go Back   Tropical Fish Forum . Net > General Aquarium Care > Air Pumps

Air Pumps Questions and comments about air pumps

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old ,
Bernie Bernie is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,756
Question Do You Need One

I would like people's opinions as to whether an air pump is necessary to have in a tank if you have filters. I have one but don't use it and now with 7 small tanks that is a lot of air pumps! most of my tanks have 2 HOB filters on them.
  #2  
Old ,
Gillian's Avatar
Gillian Gillian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 166
Default Re: Do You Need One

I have never used an air pump and I've never had any problems with not enough oxygen in the water, etc. I've had three tanks, two with HOB filters, and my 46 gallon has a canister filter. But I have that attachment on it the sucks in the surface water, so I know there's lots of aeration going on.

I think that generally if you have HOB filters, there should be enough aeration in the tank without an air pump, and if you have two HOBs on each tank, then I'd say you're in the clear.
__________________
Gillian
  #3  
Old ,
Bernie Bernie is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,756
Default Re: Do You Need One

Thanks Gillian - i did try the air pump a long time ago but the fish didn't seem to like it which is why i use the 2 filters to provide more oxygen - it may be overkill to use 2 but the water is definitely cleaner faster.
  #4  
Old ,
LittleHippyGirl's Avatar
LittleHippyGirl LittleHippyGirl is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 916
Default Re: Do You Need One

I don't use one in my tropical tank. As long as your filter disturbs the surface enough and you aren't overstocked, most tropical tanks don't need them. Larger fish that produce more waste like big cichlids usually need them, and coldwater fish generally need them too. Goldfish use a lot of oxygen and do best with them. Also, if you have a heavilly planted tank, you will need extra oxygen at night. Plants produce O2, but only during the day with the light.
__________________
“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.” Albert Einstein
  #5  
Old ,
jellygirl's Avatar
jellygirl jellygirl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South East England
Posts: 223
Default Re: Do You Need One

Hi there LittleHippyGirl,

I'm new to the forum and was just reading this thread. I have what I would describe as a heavily planted tank. (125 litres). I do have an airstone as well as a bubble curtain (not sure if you refer to this as a air wand on this forum). My plants are a little light in colour. I give them easy carbo (which I understand protects against algae) and a plant fertiliser daily. I usually leave the bubbles on 24/7. Do you think that I should only put the bubbles on at night.

I am very new to fishkeeping and there seems as awful lot to learn.

Thanks - any advice most appreciated.


Michelle
__________________
There's more to fishkeeping than meets the eye.
  #6  
Old ,
lemuelpr's Avatar
lemuelpr lemuelpr is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Posts: 594
Arrow Re: Do You Need One

Hi Jelly!! I would advice to take out the bubbles from the tank if you plan to keep plants. Thats because plants need CO2 and if you disturb the surface (like with the bubbles) more and more CO2 will "escape" the tank. Dont over fertilize the tank, as you will see that the algae will take over. If your tank is large consider buying pond fertilizers, which come in more concentrated formulas are a lot cheaper!!! Good luck!!
__________________
55 gallon - 3 Discus w/ company
29 gallon - Endlers w/ Cherry Shrimps
5 10 gallons - Gardneri, Striatum Moyoko, Ijebu Ode Killifish


"It's better being happy than being right"
  #7  
Old ,
jellygirl's Avatar
jellygirl jellygirl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South East England
Posts: 223
Default Re: Do You Need One

Hi Lemuelpr,

I have been adding C02 by way of a product called 'Easycarbo' - this is it in liquid form.

I do have a nicely planted tank, but wonder if i could turn the bubbles off from time to time (they are very noisey). I used to have black feather algae, but since adding the c02 liquid carbon, it has disappeared.

I fertilise with a made up recipe which works out really cheaply for me, I got this reciepe from other sites on the web. (these are macros and micros).

Thank you for your advice - maybe I will turn the bubbles off during the day and on at night for the fish - what do you think

Michelle
__________________
There's more to fishkeeping than meets the eye.
  #8  
Old ,
Neoblaze550's Avatar
Neoblaze550 Neoblaze550 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lexington,Ky
Posts: 916
Default Re: Do You Need One

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemuelpr View Post
Hi Jelly!! I would advice to take out the bubbles from the tank if you plan to keep plants. Thats because plants need CO2 and if you disturb the surface (like with the bubbles) more and more CO2 will "escape" the tank. Dont over fertilize the tank, as you will see that the algae will take over. If your tank is large consider buying pond fertilizers, which come in more concentrated formulas are a lot cheaper!!! Good luck!!

Maybe this is why my plants arn't growing as well?
__________________
55 gallon: 4 angels, 2 discus, Amazon tetras, corys, 1 sml flag cichlid, Farlowellas.
40 gallon: 2 Gold Severum, 2 Butterfly fish, krib fry, 1 female convict, 1 BP.
29 gallon: 3 Kribs, 3 Keyholes, 1 Butterfly cichlid, Krib fry
10 gallon: Krib fry!!!
8 gallon: 1 Male betta
Neoblaze (Aka Cole )
  #9  
Old ,
SparkyValentine SparkyValentine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Do You Need One

The funny thing about airstones is that the bubbles themselves don't really add a lot of oxygen to the water. Water movement actually does a lot more. Airstones do move the water around a bit, but if you have enough filters, you really don't need them, unless you like the look of them. If you really want to add oxygen to your water, I would go with a powerhead.
  #10  
Old ,
lemuelpr's Avatar
lemuelpr lemuelpr is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Posts: 594
Default Re: Do You Need One

1. Can you write how to make the fertilizer?
2. If water plants are the same as land plants then they cosume CO2 during the day and oxygen during the night(if my memory of basic biology/botanics dont fail me). So turning the bubbleas @ night might not be a bad idea at all.
3. Try checking other options for adding CO2 as those liquids are kind of expensive. You can make your own CO2 system for almost nothing. I havent done it yet but someone explained it to me and it was super simple. I plan to do it soon.
Later Michelle
__________________
55 gallon - 3 Discus w/ company
29 gallon - Endlers w/ Cherry Shrimps
5 10 gallons - Gardneri, Striatum Moyoko, Ijebu Ode Killifish


"It's better being happy than being right"
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is .


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.